Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap

Status Colloquium of the Funding Programme Water Research in Baden-Württemberg

8 and 9 October 2018 at the Haus der Wirtschaft in Stuttgart
Haus der Wirtschaft Stuttgart

Press information on the event

On 8 and 9 October 2019, the Status Colloquium of the Funding Programme Water Research in Baden-Württemberg took place in Stuttgart. At the event, which was attended by about 120 representatives from science, administration and industry, the results of the three researcher networks CHARM, DRIeR and Effect-Net were presented. In addition, the Collaborative Research Center CAMPOS at the University of Tübingen was showcased.

Dr. Caroline Liepert (Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts of the Land of Baden-Württemberg) and Prof. Harald Horn (KIT) opened the colloquium. Subsequently, the project Effect-Net was presented, in which natural and social scientists from the University of Heidelberg, the University of Tübingen and KIT work together. They investigate the effects of pharmaceuticals and artificial sweeteners on fish and invertebrate organisms. The political science subproject investigates how society perceives this topic. A representative survey showed that the German population currently assesses the water quality at their place of residence predominantly as good but fears increasing contamination of waters in the future.

The researcher network CHARM is a joint project of the University of Stuttgart, the University of Konstanz and the University of Freiburg. The interdisciplinary team from engineering, natural and social sciences investigates central challenges of reservoir management. The focus in on reservoirs in the Black Forest and the Franconian Lake District. So far, depth profiles have been recorded, sediment samples and their stabilization by biofilms have been examined, physicochemical parameters and the emission of greenhouse gases have been measured and processes leading to a mass development of toxin production in blue-green algae have been analyzed. In the social science subproject, local actors have been interviewed on the acceptance of reservoirs.

In the morning of the second day, the presentation of the researcher network DRIeR followed, which examines the complex effects of drought on nature and society. The accumulation of drought events in the last two decades clearly underlines the importance of the topic. The researchers from the University of Freiburg, Heidelberg University and the University of Tübingen analyze drought events and their effects since the 16th century and combine them with current process research in order to make visible, in particular, the hidden effects, for example on water quality and biodiversity. The juridical subproject showed that public water law does not yet have any specific tools for drought management. Comparative studies on drought management in Spain and California (USA) also identified interesting starting points for a transfer.

Finally, scientists from the University of Tübingen gave an insight into the research topics of the Collaborative Research Center CRC 1253 CAMPOS 'Catchments as Reactors: Metabolism of Pollutants on the Landscape Scale'.

The lecture programme was complemented by a poster session with about 40 posters by doctoral students working on the projects. Furthermore, a collaborative workshop for early career scientists took place.

Further information in the PROGRAMME

 

Contact:

Coordination Office Water Research Network Baden-Württemberg,

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Email: info∂wassernetzwerk-bw.de

Phone: +49 721 608-47051

Fax: +49 721 608-46497

 

 

Origin of photo: https://www.hausderwirtschaft.de/fileadmin/_haus_der_wirtschaft/Bilder/Mediathek/HDW_aussen_voll.jpg

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap

Statuskolloquium des Förderprogramms Wasserforschung Baden-Württemberg

8. und 9. Oktober 2018 im Haus der Wirtschaft in Stuttgart
Haus der Wirtschaft Stuttgart

Zur Presseinformation des Statuskolloquiums

Am 8. und 9. Oktober 2018 fand das Statuskolloquium des Förderprogramms Wasserforschung Baden-Württemberg in Stuttgart statt. Bei der Veranstaltung, an der ca. 120 Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aus Wissenschaft, Verwaltung und Industrie teilnahmen, wurden die bisherigen Ergebnisse der drei Forschernetzwerke CHARM, DRIeR und Effect-Net präsentiert. Weiterhin wurde der Sonderforschungsbereich CAMPOS an der Universität Tübingen vorgestellt.

Dr. Caroline Liepert (MWK) und Prof. Harald Horn (KIT) eröffneten das Kolloquium. Im Anschluss wurde das Projekt Effect-Net präsentiert, in dem Natur- und Sozialwissenschaftlerinnen von den Universitäten Heidelberg, Tübingen und dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) zusammenarbeiten. Sie untersuchen die Auswirkungen von Arzneimitteln und künstlichen Süßstoffen auf Fische und wirbellose Organismen. Das politikwissenschaftliche Teilprojekt erforscht, wie die Gesellschaft diese Thematik wahrnimmt. Eine repräsentative Umfrage zeigte, dass die deutsche Bevölkerung die Wasserqualität an ihrem Wohnort aktuell überwiegend als gut bewertet, in Zukunft aber eine zunehmende Verunreinigung der Gewässer befürchtet.

Das Forschernetzwerk CHARM ist an den Universitäten Stuttgart, Konstanz und Freiburg angesiedelt. Das interdisziplinäre Team aus den Ingenieur-, Natur- und Sozialwissenschaften untersucht zentrale Herausforderungen des Stauseemanagements. Im Fokus stehen Stauräume im Schwarzwald und im Fränkischen Seenland. In der bisherigen Projektlaufzeit wurden Tiefenprofile aufgenommen, Sedimentproben und deren Stabilisierung durch Biofilme untersucht, physikalisch-chemische Parameter und die Emission von Treibhausgasen gemessen sowie Prozesse, die zu einer Massenentwicklung der Toxinproduktion bei Blaualgen führen, analysiert. Im sozialwissenschaftlichen Teilprojekt wurden lokale Akteurinnen und Akteure zur Akzeptanz von Stauräumen interviewt.

Am Vormittag des zweiten Tages folgte die Präsentation des Forschernetzwerks DRIeR, das die komplexen Auswirkungen von Dürre auf Natur und Gesellschaft untersucht. Die Häufung von Dürreereignissen in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten unterstreicht eindrücklich die Bedeutung des Themas. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher der Universitäten Freiburg, Heidelberg und Tübingen analysieren Dürreereignisse und deren Auswirkungen seit dem 16. Jahrhundert und verbinden diese mit gegenwärtiger Prozessforschung, um insbesondere die versteckten Auswirkungen, beispielsweise auf Wasserqualität und Biodiversität, sichtbar zu machen. Das juristische Teilprojekt zeigte, dass das öffentliche Wasserrecht bisher kein spezifisches Instrumentarium für das Trockenheitsmanagement aufweist. Über vergleichende Untersuchungen zum Dürremanagement in Spanien und Kalifornien (USA) konnten zudem interessante Ansatzpunkte für eine Übertragung identifiziert werden.

Zum Abschluss gaben Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Universität Tübingen einen Einblick in die Forschungsthemen des SFB 1253 CAMPOS „Catchments as Reactors: Schadstoffumsatz auf der Landschaftsskala”.

Das Vortragsprogramm wurde durch eine Postersession mit ca. 40 Postern von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, die in den Projekten arbeiten, flankiert. Weiterhin fand ein Vernetzungsworkshop für Early-Career-Scientists statt.

Weitere Informationen im PROGRAMM

 

Kontakt:

Geschäftsstelle des Netzwerks Wasserforschung Baden-Württemberg

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

E-Mail: info∂wassernetzwerk-bw.de

Telefon: 0721 608-47051

Fax: 0721 608-46497

 

 

Bildnachweis: https://www.hausderwirtschaft.de/fileadmin/_haus_der_wirtschaft/Bilder/Mediathek/HDW_aussen_voll.jpg