Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap

Collaborative Workshop: Water Ages in the Hydrological Cycle

From 18 to 20 October 2017, an international workshop took place in Saig (Hotel Saigerhöh) in the Black Forest.
Workshop Water Ages in the Hydrological Cycle

The rapid development of novel analytical instruments resulted in new opportunities for water flow paths estimation and water flux quantification. However, it remains a challenge how to combine the different tracer techniques, ranging from natural tracers (e.g. isotopes of water, carbon and nitrogen, water temperature) to noble gas tracers and other natural and anthropogenic substances in the water, to cover travel times from hours to several decades and centuries throughout hydrological compartments.

Therefore, the goal of the workshop was to foster interdisciplinary discussion about approaches, methods and models to determine water age and transit times throughout the hydrological cycle. 29 scientists from Baden-Württemberg, other regions of Germany and abroad (Switzerland, UK, France, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Canada) attended the event.

On the first day, methods, approaches and models for the quantification of water age und transit times in the environmental compartments atmosphere, vegetation, unsaturated zone (soil), saturated zone (ground water) and surface water were discussed. Subsequently, strengths and weaknesses of the approaches and models for the different environmental compartments were identified. The focus was on experimental and theoretical approaches.

On the second day, the fluxes at the compartment boundaries were analyzed in a World Café at four tables:

  • soil-vegetation-atmosphere,
  • soil-atmosphere,
  • unsaturated-saturated zone and
  • surface water-ground water.

Finally, it was discussed how to develop an appropriate theoretical framework for linking water ages in different compartments and different time scales. After the event, a field trip to the Conventwald research catchment of the University of Freiburg took place.

The workshop was organized by Prof. Dr. Markus Weiler from the Chair of Hydrology of the University of Freiburg.

Scientific committee:

Prof. Dr. Markus Weiler, Chair of Hydrology, University of Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Werner Aeschbach, Institute of Environmental Physics, Heidelberg University

Prof. Dr. Christiane Werner, Chair of Ecosystem Physiology, University of Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Christiane Stumpp, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna

 

If you are interested in the results of the workshop, please refer to Matthias Sprenger.

 

Origin of photos: photos of the workshop (© U. Scherer).

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap

Vernetzungs-Workshop: Water Ages in the Hydrological Cycle

Vom 18. bis 20. Oktober 2017 fand ein internationaler Workshop in Saig (Hotel Saigerhöh) im Schwarzwald statt.
Workshop Water Ages in the Hydrological Cycle

Die rasante Entwicklung neuer Analysemethoden eröffnet zahlreiche neue Möglichkeiten zur Ermittlung der Fließpfade des Wassers in der Umwelt und Quantifizierung der Flüsse. Allerdings ist es nach wie vor eine große Herausforderung, verschiedene Tracertechniken von natürlichen Tracern (z. B. Isotope von Wasser, Kohlenstoff und Stickstoff, Wassertemperatur) bis hin zu Edelgastracern und anderen natürlichen und anthropogenen Substanzen im Wasser zu kombinieren, um Aufenthaltszeiten über große zeitliche (von wenigen Stunden bis mehrere Jahrzehnte/Jahrhunderte) und räumliche Skalen in den hydrologischen Kompartimenten abzudecken.

Ziel des Workshops war es daher, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus verschiedenen Disziplinen zusammenzuführen, um Ansätze, Methoden und Modelle zur Bestimmung des Alters und der Aufenthaltszeiten von Wasser im gesamten hydrologischen Kreislauf zu erörtern. An der Veranstaltung haben 29 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Baden-Württemberg, anderen Regionen Deutschlands und dem Ausland (Schweiz, UK, Frankreich, Niederlande, Luxemburg, Kanada) teilgenommen.

Am ersten Tag wurden Methoden, Ansätze und Modelle zur Quantifizierung des Alters und der Transitzeiten von Wasser in den Umweltkompartimenten Atmosphäre, Vegetation, ungesättigte Zone (Boden), gesättigte Zone (Grundwasser) und Oberflächenwasser diskutiert. Im Anschluss wurden die Stärken und Schwächen in den Ansätzen und Modellen für die verschiedenen Umweltkompartimente identifiziert. Dabei lag ein Fokus auf experimentellen und theoretischen Ansätzen.

Am zweiten Tag wurden in einem World-Café an vier moderierten Tischen die Flüsse an den Kompartimentgrenzen analysiert:

  • Boden-Vegetation-Atmosphäre,
  • Boden-Atmosphäre,
  • gesättigte-ungesättigte Zone und
  • Oberflächenwasser-Grundwasser.

Abschließend wurde für verschiedene Randbedingungen diskutiert, wie ein geeigneter theoretischer Rahmen für die Kopplung des Wasseralters in den verschiedenen Kompartimenten und auf unterschiedlichen Zeitskalen entwickelt werden kann. Im Anschluss an die Veranstaltung bestand die Möglichkeit, das Forschungseinzugsgebiet Coventwald der Universität Freiburg zu besichtigen.

Der Workshop wurde von Prof. Dr. Markus Weiler von der Professur für Hydrologie der Universität Freiburg veranstaltet.

Wissenschaftliches Komitee:

Prof. Dr. Markus Weiler, Professur für Hydrologie, Universität Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Werner Aeschbach, Institut für Umweltphysik, Universität Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. Christiane Werner, Professur für Ökosystemphysiologie, Universität Freiburg

Prof. Dr. Christiane Stumpp, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien

 

Bei Interesse an den Ergebnissen des Workshops, wenden Sie sich bitte an Matthias Sprenger.

 

Bildnachweis: Bilder des Workshops (© U. Scherer).