Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap

Collaborative Workshop: The Triangle Flow – Biofilm – Sediment

The aim of this multiphase workshop is to better understand the complex interactions between hydrodynamics, biofilms and sediments at the water/solid interface in aquatic ecosystems.
Vernetzungsworkshop Universität Stuttgart "Triangle Flow - biofilm - Sediment" (© B. Skodic)

The predominant microbial lifestyle in most aquatic ecosystems is the biofilm where microorganisms settle in multispecies communities at solid/water interfaces. While hydrodynamic largely dictates available substratum, initial settlement as well as growth of biofilm, the influence is not unidirectional: further development of these microbial cities shapes strongly their adjacent physical and chemical surrounding. These mutual interactions between flow-biofilm-sediment have important consequences for a variety of biofilm functions to impact the morphology of lotic and lentic waters as well as water quality and ecological health of the aquatic ecosystems (Gerbersdorf & Wieprecht 2015).

Within the framework of this workshop, biofilms and their interaction with flow and sediments are experimentally investigated in flumes by means of various methods. In particular, it should be made clear to what extent data obtained on different scales and with different methods can be brought together. 

As a kick-off event, a public symposium with lectures for the introduction to the different topics took place at the University of Stuttgart, Institute for Modelling Hydraulic and Environmental Systems (IWS), on the morning of 12 June 2018. Further information in the PROGRAMME.

During summer, biofilms were cultivated at the Hydraulic Laboratory of the University of Stuttgart. In September 2018, the biofilms were analyzed by using the following methods:

  • Digital Microscope, Magnetic Particle Induction (MagPI), Molecular Fingerprinting, Rheometry: Department of Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources Management, University of Stuttgart
  • Particle Image Velocimetry (PIV): Institute for Hydrodynamics, KIT
  • Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT): Engler-Bunte-Insititut, Water Chemistry and Water Technology, KIT
  • Hyperspectral Imaging: MPI for Marine Microbiology, Bremen
  • Topographic Scanning: Institute for Environmental Sciences, University of Koblenz-Landau

After evaluation of the obtained data, a third meeting of the involved working groups took place at the University of Stuttgart on 13 February 2019 in order to discuss the different measuring methods. The synopsis of the applied measuring methods showed a high potential to better understand the interactions at the interface flow – biofilm – sediment.

The workshop series is organized by the Institute for Modelling Hydraulic and Environmental Systems, Department of Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources Management at the University of Stuttgart.

 

Contact:

Dr. Sabine Gerbersdorf and Kaan Koca

Institute for Modelling Hydraulic and Environmental Systems

Department of Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources Management

University of Stuttgart

Email: sabine.gerbersdorf∂iws.uni-stuttgart.de, kaan.koca∂iws.uni-stuttgart.de

 

 

Origin of photos: Above: biofilm in a flume of the Institute for Modelling Hydraulic and Environmental Systems, University of Stuttgart (from Gerbersdorf & Wieprecht 2015, Geobiology, © B. Skodic); at the bottom right: Michael Wagner (Engler-Bunte-Institut, KIT) during the OCT measurement in Stuttgart (© U. Scherer).

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap

Vernetzungs-Workshop: The Triangle Flow – Biofilm – Sediment

Ziel dieses mehrphasigen Workshops ist es, die komplexen Interaktionen zwischen Hydrodynamik, Biofilm und Sedimenten an der Grenzfläche von Substrat und Wasser in aquatischen Ökosystemen besser zu verstehen.
Vernetzungsworkshop Universität Stuttgart "Triangle Flow - biofilm - Sediment" (© B. Skodic)

Die vorherrschende mikrobielle Lebensform in den meisten aquatischen Ökosystemen ist der Biofilm, in dem sich Mikroorganismen in artenreichen Gemeinschaften an Substrat-Wasser-Grenzflächen ansiedeln. Während die Strömungsverhältnisse weitgehend das verfügbare Substrat, die Erstbesiedelung und das Wachstum des Biofilms bestimmen, hängt die weitere Entwicklung stark von den physikalischen und chemischen Eigenschaften des Substrats ab und beeinflusst wiederum die sohlnahe Hydrodynamik. Diese wechselseitige Beziehung hat einen bedeutenden Einfluss auf eine Vielzahl von Biofilmfunktionen, die sich auf die Morphologie von Gewässern sowie auf die Wasserqualität und die ökologische Gesundheit aquatischer Ökosysteme auswirken (Gerbersdorf & Wieprecht, 2015).

Im Rahmen des Workshops werden Biofilme sowie deren Interaktion mit Strömung und Sedimen­ten experimentell in Versuchsrinnen mit verschiedenen Methoden untersucht. Dabei soll insbeson­dere die Frage geklärt werden, inwiefern Daten, die auf unterschiedlichen Skalen und mit verschie­denen Methoden gewonnen werden, zusammengeführt werden können. 

Zum Auftakt fand am Vormittag des 12. Juni 2018 am Institut für Wasser- und Umweltsystemmodellierung (IWS) der Universität Stuttgart ein öffentliches Symposium mit Vorträgen zur Einfüh­rung in die verschiedenen Themenbereiche statt. Weitere Informationen im PROGRAMM.

Während des Sommers wurden in der Versuchsanstalt für Wasserbau der Universität Stuttgart Biofilme kultiviert. Im September 2018 wurden die Biofilme mit den folgenden Methoden von analysiert:

  • Digital Microscope, Magnetic Particle Induction (MagPI), Molecular Fingerprinting, Rheometry: Lehrstuhl für Wasserbau und Wassermengenwirtschaft, Universität Stuttgart
  • Particle Image Velocimetry (PIV): Institut für Hydromechanik, KIT
  • Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT): Engler-Bunte-Insititut, Wasserchemie und Wassertechnologie, KIT
  • Hyperspectral Imaging: MPI für Marine Mikrobiologie, Bremen
  • Topographic Scanning: Institut für Umweltwissenschaften, Universität Koblenz-Landau

Nach Auswertung der gewonnenen Daten fand am 13. Februar 2019 ein 3. Treffen der beteiligten Arbeitsgruppen an der Universität Stuttgart statt, um die Ergebnisse der verschiedenen Messme­thoden zu diskutieren. Die Zusammenschau der angewendeten Messmethoden zeigte ein hohes Potenzial, um die Wechselwirkungen an der Grenzfläche Strömung-Biofilm-Sedimente besser zu verstehen.

Die Workshopreihe wird vom Institut für Wasser- und Umweltsystemmodellierung, Lehrstuhl für Wasserbau und Wassermengenwirtschaft der Universität Stuttgart durchgeführt.

 

Kontakt:

Dr. Sabine Gerbersdorf und Kaan Koca

Institut für Wasser- und Umweltsystemmodellierung

Lehrstuhl für Wasserbau und Wassermengenwirtschaft

Universität Stuttgart

E-Mail: sabine.gerbersdorf∂iws.uni-stuttgart.de, kaan.koca∂iws.uni-stuttgart.de

 

 

Bildnachweis: Oben: Biofilm in einer Durchflussrinne des Instituts für Wasser- und Umweltsystemmodellierung, Universität Stuttgart (aus Gerbersdorf and Wieprecht 2015, Geobiology, © B. Skodic); unten rechts: Michael Wagner (Engler-Bunte-Institut, KIT) bei der OCT-Messung in Stuttgart (© U. Scherer).