Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap

Delegation Trip to Canada

From 17 to 22 September 2017, a delegation trip to Ontario/Quebec for the initiation of cooperations in water research took place.
Delegationsreise nach Kanada des Netzwerks Wasserforschung Baden-Württemberg

The delegation trip was organized by Baden-Württemberg International in cooperation with the Water Research Network. The preparations for the trip started at the beginning of 2017: Initially, a survey consulting water researchers in Baden-Württemberg was conducted to find out which Canadian research institutions are of particular interest. Based on the results, universities and further research institutions with a focus on water research in Ontario and Quebec were selected together with Baden-Württemberg International and the concrete itinerary was planned.

9 scientists from 6 universities in Baden-Württemberg (Stuttgart, Tübingen, Hohenheim, Freiburg, Constance, KIT) and the German Water Centre (TZW: DVGW-Technologiezentrum Wasser) participated in the delegation trip. Participation of young scientists from universities in Baden-Württemberg was funded by the Water Research Network Baden-Württemberg.

The delegation met in Toronto in the evening of 17 September 2017. At first, the Water Institute of the University of Waterloo was visited on 18/19 September. In Waterloo, a workshop with 26 scientists from Canadian universities (Waterloo, Toronto, Guelph) took place. Within the framework of presentations and a World Café, concrete topics for cooperations were identified. Finally, Dr. Antje Witting (University of Konstanz) showcased her research on 'Policy Learning in the Context of Urban Flood Mitigation' in the context of the lecture series 'Water Talks'.

In the afternoon of 19 September, the delegation visited the Canada Centre for Inland Waters (CCIW) in Burlington. At the CCIW, thematically focused group discussions with 15 scientists from the CCIW took place.

On 20 September, the delegation members exchanged their experiences and expertise with 10 scientists from the Beaty Water Research Centre of Queen’s University in Kingston. Afterwards, they visited the Coastal Engineering Lab and the Queen’s University Biological Station at the Elbow Lake.

In the morning of 21 September, the delegation visited the Biosphere Environment Museum in Montreal. In the afternoon, the delegation members met up with scientists from the Brace Centre for Water Resources Management of McGill’s University for a symposium.

On 22 September, the delegation trip ended with a visit of the River Institute in Cornwell with a traditional Mohawk ceremony and a boat trip on the St. Lawrence River.

During the delegation trip, numerous concrete cooperation opportunities between the delegation members and the Canadian scientists were generated.

If you are interested in further information, please refer to Ulrike Scherer or Felicitas Behrendt.

 

Origin of photos: impressions of the delegation trip to Ontario/Quebec in September 2017: Elbow Lake, World Café at the Joint Ontario Baden-Württemberg workshop in Waterloo, delegation from Baden-Württemberg together with scientists in front of the CCIW and during the boat trip on the St. Lawrence River (© F. Behrendt).

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap

Delegationsreise nach Kanada

Vom 17. - 22. September 2017 fand eine Delegationsreise zur Anbahnung von Kooperationen in der Wasserforschung nach Ontario/Quebec statt.
Delegationsreise nach Kanada des Netzwerks Wasserforschung Baden-Württemberg

Die Delegationsreise wurde von Baden-Württemberg International in Kooperation mit dem Netzwerk Wasserforschung veranstaltet. Die konkreten Vorbereitungen begannen Anfang des Jahres 2017: Zunächst wurde eine Umfrage in der Wasserforschung von Baden-Württemberg durchgeführt, welche kanadischen Forschungsinstitutionen von besonderem Interesse sind. Basierend auf den Ergebnissen wurden zusammen mit Baden-Württemberg International Universitäten und weitere Forschungs­einrichtungen mit einem Schwerpunkt in der Wasserforschung in Ontario und Quebec ausgewählt und der konkrete Ablauf der Reise geplant.

An der Delegationsreise nahmen 9 Wissenschaft­lerinnen und Wissenschaftler von 6 Universitäten in Baden-Württemberg (Stuttgart, Tübingen, Hohenheim, Freiburg, Konstanz, KIT) und dem DVGW-Technologiezentrum Wasser teil. Die Teilnahme für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler von baden-württembergischen Universitäten wurde vom Netzwerk Wasserforschung Baden-Württemberg gefördert.

Die Delegation traf sich am Abend des 17. September 2017 in Toronto. Als erste Station wurde am 18./19. September das Water Institute der University of Waterloo besucht. In Waterloo fand ein gemeinsamer Workshop mit 26 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern von kanadischen Universitäten (Waterloo, Toronto, Guelph) statt. Im Rahmen von Vorträgen und einem World Café wurden konkrete Themen für Kooperationen identifiziert. Zum Abschluss des Workshops präsentierte Dr. Antje Witting (Universität Konstanz) im Rahmen der Vortragsreihe "Water Talks" ihre Forschung zum Thema "Policy Learning in the Context of Urban Flood Mitigation".

Als nächste Forschungsinstitution besuchte die Delegation am Nachmittag des 19. September das Canada Centre for Inland Waters (CCIW) in Burlington. Im CCIW fanden Diskussionen in thematisch fokussierten Kleingruppen mit 15 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern des CCIW statt.

Am 20.09. tauschte sich die Delegation mit 10 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern des Beaty Water Research Centre der Queen’s Uni­versity in Kingston aus und besichtigte im Anschluss das Coastal Engineering Lab und die Queen’s University Biological Station am Elbow Lake.

Am Morgen des 21. September besuchte die Delega­tion das Biosphere Environment Museum in Montreal und traf sich am Nachmittag mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern des Brace Centre for Water Resources Management der McGill University zu einem gemeinsamen Symposium.

Der Abschluss der Reise bildete am 22. September ein Besuch des River Institute in Cornwell mit einer traditionellen Mohawk Zeremonie und einer Flussfahrt auf dem St. Lawrence River.

Bei der Reise ergaben sich zahlreiche kon­krete Kooperationsmöglichkeiten zwischen den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern der Delegation mit kanadischen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern.

Bei Interesse an weiteren Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Ulrike Scherer oder Felicitas Behrendt.

 

Bildnachweis: Impressionen von der Delegationsreise nach Ontario/Quebec im September 2017: Elbow Lake, World Café beim Joint Ontario Baden-Württemberg Workshop in Waterloo, die Delegation aus Baden-Württemberg zusammen mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern vor dem CCIW und bei der Flussfahrt auf dem St. Lawrence River (© F. Behrendt)