Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap

Collaborative Workshop: Urban Water-Energy Nexus

On 31 July and 1 August 2017, an interdisciplinary workshop for modelling and assessing the urban water-energy nexus took place at KIT.
Workshop Water Energy Nexus im Juli 2017 am KIT

The workshop aimed at the exchange and networking of 20 young scientists dealing with the interdependencies between water and energy in urban areas.

Initially, Harald Schönberger (ISWA, University of Stuttgart) reported about the 'waste water treatment in the textile industry' by using numerous international examples. Further keynotes were held by Manfred Schütze (IFAK, Magdeburg) on 'modelling and simulation approaches' and Helmut Lehn (ITAS, KIT) on 'sustainability in the water-energy sector'. Afterwards, the other participants reflected on their research topics in short presentations. Subsequently, requirements on model approaches as well as sustainability aspects of the water-energy nexus were discussed in moderated groups.

On the second day, the participants discussed aspects of communication and dissemination of scientific knowledge. Furthermore, they took part in an interactive game in which they slipped into different roles of stakeholders: Drivers and barriers of innovative water-management solutions for waste water treatment and reuse were 'playfully' analyzed for two fictitious urban contexts (arid and water-rich) with divergent priorities (save water or energy).

As a result of the workshop, cross-cutting research questions regarding the modelling and assessment of the water-energy nexus were identified. The 'interactive game' was successfully repeated by ITAS during a session of the World Water Seek in Stockholm in August 2017: The session was honoured by the organisers of the conference (session of ITAS at the World Water Seek).

The workshop was organized by the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) of KIT with the scientific supprt of the Institute for Sanitary Engineering, Water Quality and Solid Waste Management (ISWA) of the University of Stuttgart. If you are interested in the results of the workshop, please refer to Dr. Annika Weiß (Email: Annika.Weiss∂kit.edu).

 

Invitation to the workshop

Further information on the workshop

 

Origin of photos: photos of the workshop (© A. Weiß).

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap

Vernetzungs-Workshop: Urbaner Wasser-Energie-Nexus

Am 31.07. und 01.08.2017 fand am KIT ein interdisziplinärer Workshop zur Modellierung und Bewertung des urbanen Wasser-Energie-Nexus statt.
Workshop Water Energy Nexus im Juli 2017 am KIT

Ziel des Workshops war der Austausch und die Vernetzung von 20 jungen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, die sich mit den Wechselwirkungen zwischen Wasser und Energie in städti­schen Gebieten befassen.

Zu Beginn referierte Harald Schönberger (ISWA, Universität Stuttgart) anhand zahlreicher inter­nationaler Beispiele über die „Abwasserbehandlung in der Textilindustrie”. Weitere Impulsvorträge wurden von Manfred Schütze (IFAK, Magdeburg) zu „Ansätzen der Modellierung und Simula­tion” und Helmut Lehn (ITAS, KIT) über „Nachhaltigkeit im Wasser-Energie-Sektor” gehalten. Danach stellten die anderen Teilnehmenden in kurzen Vorträgen ihre Forschungsthemen vor. Im Anschluss wurden am ersten Tag in mo­derierten Gruppen Anforderungen an Modellansätze sowie Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte des Wasser-Energie-Nexus diskutiert.

Am zweiten Tag standen Aspekte der Kommunikation und Verbreitung von wissenschaft­lichen Erkenntnissen im Vordergrund. Weiterhin wurden im Rahmen eines interaktiven Spiels, bei dem die Teilnehmenden in unterschiedliche Stake­holderrollen schlüpften, Treiber und Barrieren für innovative Infrastrukturlösungen zur Abwasser­behandlung und -wiederverwendung für zwei fiktive urbane Kontexte (wasserarm oder wasser­reich) mit divergenten Prioritäten (Wasser oder Energie sparen) „spielend” analysiert.

Als Ergebnis des Workshops wurden übergreifende Forschungsfragen zur Modellierung und Be­wertung des Wasser-Energie-Nexus identifiziert. Das „interaktive Spiel” wurde vom ITAS bei einer Session auf der World Water Week in Stockholm im August 2017 mit Erfolg wiederholt: Die Session wurde von den Veranstaltern der Konferenz ausgezeichnet (Session des ITAS auf der World Water Week).

Der Workshop wurde vom Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) des KIT mit wissenschaftlicher Unterstützung des Instituts für Siedlungswasserbau, Wassergüte- und Abfallwirtschaft (ISWA) der Universität Stuttgart veranstaltet. Bei Interesse an den Ergebnissen des Workshops wenden Sie sich bitte an Dr. Annika Weiß (E-Mail: Annika.Weiss∂kit.edu)

 

Einladung zum Workshop

Weitere Informationen zum Workshop

 

Bildnachweis: Bilder des Workshops (© A. Weiß).