Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap

Collaborative Workshop: Drought in the Anthropocene

From 8 to 11 October 2017, an international workshop on the interdependency between drought and society took place at the University of Freiburg.
Workshop Drought in the Anthropocene

Drought is one of the major threats to people's livelihoods as it affects all socio-economic and environmental systems. Resultant impacts are a combination of the interdependencies between the drought hazard and local vulnerability to drought. Nowadays the major challenge is the quantification of the feedbacks between drought and society: the influence of people on drought, impacts of drought on people, response of people to drought impacts; at local as well as at global scale.

The workshop was initiated by the researcher network DRIeR and realized in cooperation with the Panta Rhei 'Drought in the Anthropocene' working group of IAHS (International Association of Hydrological Sciences). 38 young scientists from Germany (University of Freiburg, Heidelberg University, University of Cologne) and abroad (UK, Finland, Sweden, Norway, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Italy, Nigeria) participated in the workshop.

The aim of the workshop was to consider drought from different perspectives and by means of different methods as well as to initiate comparative studies on the topic of drought risk management. The workshop focused on the following questions:

  • How are people enhancing/alleviating hydrological drought evens?
  • How are people responding to drought event by changing water use and management practices and infrastructure?
  • How do these feedback processes result in aggravated or alleviated drought conditions?

 

At the beginning of the workshop, Henny van Lanen (Wageningen University) gave a keynote lecture on the state of the art about 'Drought research in the anthropocene'. Further keynotes were held by Gemma Coxon (Bristol University) in the session 'Influence of humans on hydrological drought at the local scale', Niko Wanders (Utrecht University) on the topic 'Human influences in large-scale hydrological models' and Jürgen Vogt on 'Drought impact and vulnerability research' at the Joint Research Centre (JRC) of the European Commission. As a result of the workshop, concrete topics for research cooperations between the participants were developed.

 

The workshop was organized by Dr. Veit Blauhut, Prof. Dr. Kerstin Stahl and Dr. Sylvia Kruse from the University of Freiburg with the scientific support of Dr. Anne van Loon from the University of Birmingham. If you are interested in the results of the workshop, please refer to Veit Blauhut (Email: panta.rhei2017∂hydrology.uni-freiburg.de).

 

Origin of photos: photos of the workshop (© V. Blauhut).

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap

Vernetzungs-Workshop: Drought in the Anthropocene

Vom 8. bis 11. Oktober 2017 fand an der Universität Freiburg ein internationaler Workshop zur Wechselwirkung zwischen Trockenheit und Gesellschaft statt.
Workshop Drought in the Anthropocene

Trockenheitsereignisse bzw. Dürren stellen eine große Bedrohung für die Lebensgrundlage der Menschen dar, da sie alle sozioökonomischen und ökologischen Systeme betreffen. Die Auswirkungen von Trockenheitsereignissen hängen einerseits von dem Risiko des Auftretens der Ereignisse und andererseits von der lokalen Vulnerabilität für Trockenheit ab. Eine der großen wissenschaftlichen Herausforderungen besteht aktuell in der Charakterisierung und Quantifizierung der Rückkopplungsprozesse zwischen Trockenheit und Gesellschaft.

Der Workshop wurde vom Forschernetzwerk DRIeR initiiert und zusammen mit der Panta-Rhei-Arbeitsgruppe Drought in the Anthropocene” der IAHS (International Association of Hydrological Sciences) realisiert. An der Veranstaltung nahmen 38 junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland (Universitäten Freiburg, Heidelberg, Köln) und dem Ausland (UK, Finnland, Schweden, Norwegen, Frankreich, Belgien, Niederlande, Italien, Nigeria) teil.

Ziel des Workshops war es, Trockenheit aus verschiedenen Perspektiven und mit unterschiedlichen Methoden zu betrachten sowie vergleichende Studien zum Thema Dürre-Risiko-Management zu initiieren. Im Fokus des Workshops standen die Fragen:

  • Wie beeinflussen Menschen hydrologische Trockenheit?
  • Wie reagieren Menschen auf Trockenheitsereignisse (z. B. Änderung der Wassernutzung, Anpassung des Wassermanagements und der Infrastruktur)?
  • Inwiefern führen diese Feedbackprozesse zu einer Verschärfung bzw. Milderung der Bedingungen für Trockenheit?

 

Zu Beginn der Veranstaltung hielt Henny van Lanen (Wageningen University) eine Keynote zum Stand des Wissens zu „Drought research in the anthropocene”. Weitere Keynotes wurden von Gemma Coxon (Bristol University) in der Session „Influence of humans on hydrological drought at the local scale”, Niko Wanders (Utrecht University) zum Thema „Human influences in large‐scale hydrological models” und Jürgen Vogt über die Forschungsarbeiten zu „Drought impact and vulnerability research” am Joint Research Centre (JRC) der European Comission präsentiert. Als Ergebnis des Workshops wurden konkrete Themen für Forschungskooperationen zwischen den Teilnehmenden entwickelt.

 

Der Workshop wurde von Dr. Veit Blauhut, Prof. Dr. Kerstin Stahl und Dr. Sylvia Kruse von der Universität Freiburg mit wissenschaftlicher Unterstützung von Dr. Anne van Loon von der University of Birmingham organisiert. Bei Interesse an den Ergebnissen des Workshops wenden Sie sich bitte an Veit Blauhut (E-Mail: panta.rhei2017∂hydrology.uni-freiburg.de).

 

Bildnachweis: Bilder des Workshops (© V. Blauhut).